System Snapshots
Overview
System snapshots contain a backup of everything in a system, including all tenants, VMs, NAS volumes, networks, and settings. A system snapshot can be used to restore an entire system. Additionally, the following can be imported and restored from a system snapshot:
- Individual Tenants
- Individual NAS volumes
- Individual VMs
Automated System Snapshots
By default, system snapshots run according to the included System Snapshots profile. The system snapshot schedule can be changed by modifying this default profile or assigning a different profile.
Assign Different Automated Schedule
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- From the left menu, click Edit Snapshot Profile
- Select the desired Snapshot Profile
- Click Submit
Add Period to System Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- From the left menu, click View Snapshot Profile
- From the left menu, click Profile Periods
- From the left menu, click New
- Configure fields as desired
- Click Submit
Modify System Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- From the left menu, click View Snapshot Profile
- From the left menu, click Profile Periods
- Select the desired profile
- From the left menu, click Edit
- Modify fields as desired
- Click Submit
Remove Period from System Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- From the left menu, click View Snapshot Profile
- From the left menu, click Profile Periods
- Select the desired profile
- From the left menu, click Delete
- Click Yes to confirm
Manual System Snapshots
A manual snapshot can be taken at any time.
Take a Manual Snapshot of Entire System
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- From the left menu, click New
- Enter a Name for the snapshot
- (Optional), Enter a Description
- Set Expiration Type
- Set Date - allows you to configure a custom date/time
- Never Expire - sets snapshot to never expire
Always consider vSAN usage when setting snapshots to never expire. As source data diverges more from the snapshot data, vSAN usage will grow. Using the Never Expire option is generally not recommended.
- In the Expires field, select a data and time for expiration. This field is only visible if Expiration Type is set to Set Date
- The Private checkbox can be deselected to allow tenants access to their own data within the snapshot
- Click Submit
Restores from System Snapshots
KorGrid provides several platform-level snapshots as part of the service, available to you as a built-in benefit. If you need recovery points outside of KorGrid’s standard snapshot cadence, you can also configure your own system-level snapshots and define schedules that best fit your operational needs.
Access System Snapshots
- From the Top Menu, click System -> System Snapshots
- Select the desired provider snapshot
- From the left menu, click Request From Provider
After the process is confirmed, tranferring the snapshot to your tenant can take up to a minute (depending on the size delta of the snapshot). Once transferred the snapshot will display as a Local snapshot and can be used for system, VM, and volume restores.
After a snapshot has been requested from KorGrid, and displays as a Local snapshot, it can be edited to modify description and expiration. When changing the expiration date it's important to consider effects on your vSAN usage. Long-term snapshots can substantially increase storage usage as data divergence between the snapshot and live data increases over time.
Restore Entire System
Full system restoration is only supported on the local cluster where the snapshot was taken. This operation can't be used to restore one site over another. For example, you can't restore central2 with a system snapshot from west1. In addition, a full system restoration will require a reboot of all nodes.
A full system restoration will revert all system components, including:
- Virtual Machines
- Tenant Configurations
- NAS Data
- System Settings
This is a full restoration that can't be selectively applied to specific components.
- First, request a system snapshot using the Access System Snapshots instructions.
- Select the desired provider snapshot
- From the left menu, click Restore
- Recommended, leave the option checked to take a snapshot of the system prior to the restoration. This allows for reverting the system back, if needed.
- Be default, the topion to reboot all nodes after the restore is enabled. This will let the system handle the node reboots for you. A reboot of all nodes is necessary to complete the system level restore.
- Click Proceed
To cancel the operation, the Cancel button must be clicked within 60 seconds; otherwise, the restore operation will continue.
Restore Select Tenants
- First, request a system snapshot using the Access System Snapshots instructions.
- Select the desired provider snapshot
- From the left menu, click View Tenants
- Select the desired tenant(s) to restore
- From the left menu, click Recover
The snapshot tenant listing will display a checkmark and Complete message next to each tenant. By default, tenant restorations are restored as a new tenant instance. If you wish to overwrite the tenant during restoration, follow the overwrite instructions below.
Restore Tenant (Overwrite)
- From the Top Menu, click Tenants -> Tenant Nodes
- Select the desired tenant nodes
- From the left menu, click Power Off
- From the Top Menu, click Tenants -> List
- Select the tenant whose nodes have been powered off
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Snapshots
- Select the desired snapshot
- From the left menu, click Restore
- Click Procreed
The changes will take effect when the tenant is powered on again.
Restore Select VMs
- First, request a system snapshot using the Access System Snapshots instructions.
- Select the desired provider snapshot
- From the left menu, click View VMs
- Select the desired virtual machine(s)
- From the left menu, click Recover
The snapshot VM listing will display a checkmark and Complete message next to each VM. By default, VM restorations are restored as a new VM instance. If you wish to overwrite the VM during restoration, follow the Restore VM (Overwrite Existing) instructions.