NAS Snapshots
Overview
Volume-level snapshots allow for customizing snapshot schedule and retention rules per individual NAS volume and provide the option for a quiesced snapshot. (Non-quiesced NAS volumes can be imported from system snapshots to be used for restore.)
Quiesced Snapshots
Quiesced volume snapshots freeze file system I/O during the snapshot process. The quiesce option can be selected when taking a manual volume snapshot and can be enabled within the snapshot profile for automated snapshots.
Volume Snapshot Profiles
Snapshot Profiles are used to schedule snapshots; assign a profile to a volume to perform automated snapshots.
Assign a Snapshot Profile
Snapshots can only be performed on volumes of type=local.
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes
- Select the desired volume
- From the left menu, click Edit
- In the Snapshot Profile drop down, select the desired profile
- Click Submit
Take a Manual Snapshot
Snapshots can only be performed on volumes of type=local.
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes
- Select the desired volume
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Snapshots
- From the left menu, click New
- Enter a Name for the snapshot
- (Optional), Enter a Description for the snapshot
- Quiesce - Can be toggeled to freeze I/O during the snapshot process
- Set Expires to your desired snapshot expiration date
If you don't wish the snapshot to expire, set Expiration Date to Never.
- Click Submit
When selecting the expiration date of a snapshot it's important to consider vSAN space utilization. Initially, the snapshot and the source data are the same, thus there is no impact on storage utilization; however, as source data diverges more from the snapshot vSAN usage will increase.
Restore Volume From Snapshot
To restore a volume from a system snapshot, the volume must first be imported from the system snapshot as detailed below.
To restore from an individual volume snapshot, you can skip directly to the Restore to Overwrite or Restore to Create New.
Import Volume Snapshot
You must first import a volume snapshot from a system snapshot in order to make it available for a volume restore.
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes
- Select the desired volume
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click System Snapshots
- Select the desired snapshot
- From the left menu, click Request from Provider
- Selet the snapshot you just requested
- From the left menu, click Import Snapshot
- Maky any desired changes to the Name, Description, or Expiration
ℹ️ Changes will only apply to the imported snapshot
- Click Start
Once the snapshot has been imported, it will be available for restore using the instructions below.
Restore a Volume (Overwrite)
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes
- Select the desired volume
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Snapshots
- Select the desired snapshot
- From the left menu, click Restore over Source
Restore Data Only - This option will restore over data within the volume, but not modify any current volume settings.
Restore Data and Settings - This option will restore over volume data and replace volume settings with those from the snapshot.
- Click Proceed
Restore a Volume (Create New)
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes
- Select the desired volume
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Snapshots
- Select the desired snapshot
- From the left menu, click Restore to New
- Many any desired changes to the Volume Name
- Click Submit
To view the restored volume navigate to the Volumes Dashboard.
- From the Top Menu, click NAS -> Volumes