Snapshot Profiles
Overview
A snapshot profile defines a schedule for taking and expiring snapshots. A snapshot profile can be assigned to an entire tenant, a VM, or a NAS volume. Multiple, default snapshot profiles are created by the installation; these default profiles can be modified. Additionally, new snapshot profiles can be created.
Default Snapshot Profiles
The following are the default snapshot profiles that are created during provisioning.
- Hourly for 3 hours
- Daily (at midnight) snapshots retained for 3 days
- Daily (at noon) snapshots retained for 1 day
Snapshot Profiles
Create a New Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> Snapshot Profiles
- From the left menu, click New
- Enter a Name for the new profile
- (Optional), enter a Description
- Click Submit
Modify Existing Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> Snapshot Profiles
- Select the desired snapshot profile
- From the left menu, click Edit
- Change desired Name or Description
- Click Submit
Delete Snapshot Profile
- From the Top Menu, click System -> Snapshot Profiles
- Select the desired snapshot profile
- From the left menu, click Delete
- Select Automatically detach objects referencing this profile
- Click Submit
Snapshot Profile Periods
Create Snapshot Period
A snapshot period defines a frequency and retention term. Adding multiple periods allows incorporation various frequencies and retentions within the same snapshot profile.
- From the left menu, click Add Period
- Enter a Name for the period
ℹ️ Snapshots will use this name as a prefix. For example, entering a name of "Hourly" will create snapshots named Hourly_20250705_03, Hourly_20250705_04, etc.
- Select a Frequency
- Frequency options will change depending on your selection
- Set your desired Retention
⚠️ Snapshots retained forever or for similar long periods are likely to greatly increase your storage utilization over time. It's important to consider your data change rate when selecting snapshot retention.
- Set Minimum Snapshots
- Set any additional shapshot settings
- Private - Prevents snapshots from being visible to downstream tenants. Applies to system snapshots only.
- Immutable - Locks the snapshot and prevents it from being deleted until unlocked. Applies to system snapshots only.
- Snapshot Type - Full or Partial
- Quiesce Snapshots - Pauses I/O activity during snapshot
- Click Submit
Repeat these steps to add additional snapshot periods.
Modify Snapshot Period
- From the Top Menu, click System -> Snapshot Profiles
- Select the desired snapshot profile
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Profile Periods
- Select the desired profile period
- From the left menu, click Edit
- Make desired adjustments
- Click Submit
Repeat these steps to modify additional snapshot periods.
Delete Snapshot Period
- From the Top Menu, click System -> Snapshot Profiles
- Select the desired snapshot profile
- From the left menu, click View
- From the left menu, click Profile Periods
- Select the desired profile period
- From the left menu, click Delete
- Click Yes to confirm
Repeat these steps to delete additional snapshot periods.